Monthly Favourites – January

I can’t believe it’s already January 31st. It’s been an entire month since I arrived in the UK, which is INSANE!

I figured a good way to summarise the month would be to go through 10 favourites, and make it a bit of a series for every month. I therefore present to you my January Favourites for 2015!

Clothing
Let’s be honest, I love clothes. I don’t have a lot of clothes with me (anymore, I hear you all shout), and I’m trying to only buy or keep clothes I really love.  Which means I’ve been wearing the same items every week since I arrived/bought them. Which is, of course, how it should be.  Now it won’t be a surprise to those who know me that my favourite clothing item this month is a coat. I am a winter, coat, boots loving girl. I have a lot of coats. And I wear them ALL.  But this month I’ve worn one coat more than any other.

#model face
#model face
So warm and fluffy
So warm and fluffy

I bought this coat in the Zara sale about three weeks ago for several reasons. 1) It’s somewhat waterproof, which is useful for Edinburgh winter, 2) It’s black, and I didn’t actually have a black coat, 3) The hood actually fits my tiny head, 4) It’s so amazing!!

I don’t remember exactly how much it was on sale for (I can’t even find it on the website anymore), but I think it was either £60 or £80 pounds down from about £150. Quite expensive, but for such a high quality coat that keeps me warm and will last me several winters it seemed quite reasonable!  I’ve also probably already worn it most days since I bought it, so it was clearly a worthwhile investment!

Makeup/Beauty/Perfume
I’ll just put it out there now, I am not particularly into makeup. I do love lipstick, and I’ll usually wear mascara if I’m going out, but I don’t even own a foundation at the moment and only have one brush. So, yeah. But this is in here anyway, because…well..I don’t really know.  Just because. This month it’s a tie between two perfumes on radically different ends of the fanciness scale.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Coco Mademoiselle – Chanel – £? Vanilla Brulee Eau De Toilette – The Body Shop – £8

The first was actually a Christmas present from my dad, and I’ve absolutely fallen in love with it. (Yes, I’m talking about the Chanel perfume). I feel like this will become my ‘signature scent’ if you like, just because I feel it complements me so much or something like that.  The second is the Vanilla Brulee perfume from the Body Shop (rrp. £8, down to £4.50). If you follow me on instagram you’ll know that I am OBSESSED with this range (I currently own like 10 of the shower gels), and this is a great, sweet scent to throw on for a trip to uni or venturing into the city when I don’t want to waste one of my more expensive perfumes.

Skincare
My favourite skincare is without a doubt from the Body Shop. It’s reasonably priced, does amazing things for my skin, and there are so many different ranges that regardless of your skin type there will be something that will work for you.  I have combination skin, so most of my products are from their Seaweed range for combination skin.   

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Tea Tree Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanser – The Body Shop – £5

This month’s favourite however (and last month’s) is from their Tea Tree range for blemished skin. I’m lucky enough to have very good skin, but I do get the occasional spot, and this completely clears them up.  It’s the least intense of their entire range, which means it doesn’t try out my skin too much and cause any unwanted reactions or anything like that.  The fact that it foams is also pretty cool. And it’s really cheap, which considering how well it works is reason enough to buy it in my books.  Probably not for dry or sensitive skin though…

Favourite shop
This one is a toss up between two most likely unsurprising contenders. The first is, of course, the Body Shop, my go to place for skincare, make up, or anything that smells good but can’t be eaten.  The second is River Island, which is not only my favourite place to buy shoes (all of my current shoes are from River Island, and they’re also all boots, and don’t worry mum, they’re good quality!) but also increasingly clothes.

Favourite food

Again, there have been two, and I have photos of neither of them. They’re my go to easy dinner recipes here.  The first is sauteed potatoes with paprika (yum), and the second is pasta with pesto and avocado mixed in (also yum). I’ve eaten both every day for dinner except when I’ve gone out, and I’m not even bored yet!

Favourite restaurant/pub
As you may have guessed from yesterday’s post, that would be The 9A Holyrood road.  The post pretty much explains it.  But if you didn’t read it, I’ll summarise it in one phrase: gourmet burgers.

Website
I do spend a lot of time online, either blogging, watching YouTube or Netflix, or on Pinterest.  This month though, Pinterest is definitely the winner, purely because I’ve spent SO MUCH TIME on it in the past week.  You can check out my boards by clicking on the little P icon on my social media links section!

Song
My taste in music is very diverse, and my favourite songs change constantly.  This month, the two that have been constantly stuck in my head are ‘Dangerous’ by David Guetta and ‘Thinking Out Loud’ by Ed Sheeran. Both different and yet both great (in my humble opinion).

Hobby
Ok. I am OBSESSED with going to the gym. I’ve either been going most days in the week, or twice a day. It’s ridiculous how much I love it, but fantastic at the same time!

Place
This one probably won’t come as much of a surprise, but my favourite place this month is Edinburgh. I have fallen so deeply in love with this beautiful city in the month I’ve been here, and I think it’s already stolen my heart completely!

IMG_20150105_121847 IMG_20150108_100708 IMG_20150109_140524 20150118_131625 IMG_20150122_122411 IMG_20150122_133009 20150129_102743 20150129_102907

So there you have it, my favourites for January, my first month of exchange! What did you love most this month?

6 thoughts on “Monthly Favourites – January

Leave a Reply

