Becoming British #1 – The First Month

I am one of those people who picks up on language very quickly. I don’t mean I know lots of words, but that if I’m surrounded by people who say something I will start saying it.

So obviously, exchange was going to be fun. Sure, I’m not learning a completely new language, but I’m definitely going to pick up some new words and phrases along the way. Here is a list of things I’ve noticed I’ve started saying or doing since arriving in Edinburgh (I’m sure there are more things I haven’t noticed!)

  • Saying “hiya” instead of “hey”
  • Saying “ill” instead of “sick” (e.g. “I feel ill”)
  • Jaywalking (seriously, everyone in Edinburgh crosses when the lights are red)
  • Saying “pounds” instead of “dollars” without consciously remembering to do so
  • Calling Tesco “Tesco’s”
  • Not converting everything back into AUD
  • Considering 9 degrees Celsius a ‘warm’ day
  • Not finding it being dark by 5pm unusual
2 thoughts on “Becoming British #1 – The First Month

Leave a Reply

