So it turns out I love the gym…

No, no, I’m being serious.

Stop laughing at me!

*waits* Are you quite done? Good. Thank you.

Trust me, I am as surprised as anyone else.  I mean, I’m not exactly the poster child for sport and exercise.  Or at least I wasn’t.

I joined the gym when I arrived (for the first time in my life) because I didn’t want to have to run outside in the cold Edinburgh weather in a strange city on slippy cobblestones.  Well, because I knew I wouldn’t run outside in the cold Edinburgh weather in a strange city on slippy cobblestones.  I already have dodgy ankles, and I’m not an idiot.

So, somewhat apprehensively and after MANY excuses, I paid the £71 joining fee for semester 2, and then spent exactly 28 minutes at the gym doing my first Couch to 5k running program (30 seconds running, 2 minutes walking) and legged  it as soon as I finished.

Since then, I’ve gone to the gym at least 3 times per week, not including netball training.

I’ve upgraded from simply running on the treadmill then leaving before anyone could accuse me of not belonging.  Now, I run on the treadmill, then go into the little room with the mats to do my strength stuff. Next month I plan on moving to the actual machines, although someone is going to have to teach me how to use those…

This week, which has been somewhat stressful with two assignments, living difficulties, and a great deal of peanut m&ms, I’ve been to the gym everyday for about an hour.  Tonight I was there for 2.5 hours, but don’t worry, I had a 30 minute break between my workout and netball training.

I can now run for 10 minutes straight, which is a massive improvement from 5 weeks ago.  Tomorrow, unless I’m mistaken, my challenge is to run for 20 minutes.  It will be on a low speed, my legs will ache, and I’ll probably finish bright red in the face and covered in sweat, but I think I can do it.

It turns out my year 9 PE teacher (who I spent A LOT of time trying to convince I was just not designed for any form of exercise despite having played sport for most of my life) was right.  I LOVE to exercise.

I realise my achievements aren’t particularly impressive to many.  A lot of people can run for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, even 30 minutes without any trouble.  30 push ups really isn’t that many in the scheme of things.  But I don’t even care.  I’ve improved so much in 5 weeks, my body is beginning to show it, and I feel so much more confident in myself.

5 weeks ago I didn’t even want to step foot in the gym, and now I want to go everyday.

Watch out world, Rachel the gym bunny has arrived!

2 thoughts on “So it turns out I love the gym…

Leave a Reply

