A Few of My Favourite Things – Feb Edition

How is February already over?? I mean, I know that it’s the shortest month of the year, but seriously! It can’t already be March/Spring/Autumn!! Ahhh!!!

I’m here again today with my February monthly favourites, so let’s get started!

Clothing

In what is probably unsurprising, my February favourite was another coat. What can I say, I love coats and in case you’re not aware Edinburgh isn’t exactly warm. Who am I kidding, I had a coat problem before I came to Edinburgh and Australia is not exactly what you’d call cold (except Tasmania).

Anyway.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
What is even going on with my face? Also I look so bulky because I have a hoody on underneath it!

My new coat was from New Look for £50.  I was originally searching for a camel coloured coat, but I just couldn’t find one t hat suited me! Then I saw this coat, and even though it’s stone rather than camel, I absolutely fell in love with it.  It’s that side zip biker style I absolutely love, the pockets hold a surprising amount, and the hood is so big and warm and cozy without being so big it covers my tiny head and means I can’t see anything.

#rachelproblems

I’ve been wearing this most days since I bought it, except when it’s been raining, then I’ve been wearing my Zara black waterproof coat from last month.  I still wear all my other coats, but this one has definitely been my favourite this month!

Beauty/perfume

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This month I’ve moved slightly away from the sweet vanilla scent I was loving last month to this.  It’s the Smoky Poppy Eu de Toilette from the body shop, and the only way I can think of describing it is a warm smoky sexy amazing scent. It smells quite grown up as well, but in a sophisticated awesome way rather than an old way!

I really want to go and buy some of the other products in the range because I just love the scent!! (I still love my vanilla body wash from the Body Shop though)!

It’s £8.50 for this little bottle, and you can get it from here

Skincare/Haircare

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I don’t actually have any new skincare to report this month, because I’ve literally just been using all of the same stuff.  I might need to go into the body shop again and get some new stuff because my skin’s been a little bit tempremental, but I’m pretty sure that’s just because I’ve been quite stressed, eating quite a bit of chocolatey junk food, and not drinking anywhere near as much water as a should be.

This month my skincare favourites are actually haircare favourites.  I’ve gotten REALLY into my haircare recently, most likely because it’s gotten super long and I want to keep it healthy.  These three products are the products I use after I’ve washed my hair to keep it smooth and strong and nice.  The one in the middle is the Herbal Essences Bee Strong Strengthening Cream.  I use it after I’ve washed my hair to keep it healthy and strong, and it’s made such a difference.  I also have the conditioner, and I’m planning on getting the shampoo and mask as well.  The other two products go onto dry hair.  The one of the left is the Body Shop Strawberry Beautifying Oil.  You can also use it on your skin, but I use it on the ends of my hair to keep them silky smooth and healthy.  Finally, the product on the right is the Body Shop Grapeseed Glossing Serum, which I use to keep all of my hair looking shiny and health.  I love all of them, and I’d definitely recommend them if you’re looking for hair products!

Shopping

I haven’t actually done that much shopping this month.  I’ve quite enjoyed online browsing this month on various sites, particularly baginc.com which sells leather handbags based of designer styles but for much cheaper, because let’s be honest, I am NEVER going to spend the cost of a holiday on a handbag, no matter how much I love the style. I’ve also loved looking on a shop called ‘notonthehighstreet’ which has really cute individual homewares and things like that! Love it!!

Pubs/Restaurants

I went to a little bar place called 56 North twice last week, and it was really nice.  It’s super close to uni, the food is pretty cheap, and it’s really nice.  They also have free wifi, so I might start using it as a study spot, because I need to stop spending so much time in Starbucks…

Hobby/Activity

I’m still loving the gym this month! I’ve gone on average 4 or 5 days a week, and I’ve found I’m so much more confident being there.  I can now run for 25 minutes straight (woo!), and as of March I’m going to start using the weights machines a little bit (I’ve been scoping them out whilst doing my stretches).  I also want to start hiking more now that the weather is somewhat improving!

Food

My favourite food this month has most definitely been the Tesco’s Finest cookies, which I talked about yesterday. So good (but also SO unhealthy).

Website

I have LOVED netflix this month.  I’ve been watching so many shows: QI, Friday Night Dinner, Pretty Little Liars, Underbelly.  It’s so convenient to be able to just go onto netflix and watch pretty much whatever I feel like!

Song

My favourite song this month is quite a recent discovery, but I’m so obsessed with it! It’s Avicii – The Nights, and it just makes me want to make the most of things and explore and adventure and experience things before I’m too old to!

Place

Predictable again, but my favourite place is still Edinburgh.  I don’t think I could ever get tired of this beautiful city, and I’ve seen even more of it this month than I did last month! This city just makes me happy, and so much of me doesn’t want to leave (in fact I suspect if it weren’t for certain individuals back in Australia I wouldn’t leave). I’ve taken quite a few photos this month, but this one is definitely my favourite!

IMG_20150221_165312
Princes Street at sunset!

What’s been your favourite thing this month? 😀

4 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things – Feb Edition

  1. My favourite thing this month was coming up with a short story idea exciting enough to keep me working on it most days since I thought of it. I feel like an author again and that’s a big thing for me!
    Keep up the hair care, your ridiculous hair is the first thing I noticed about you. I think at the time you said it just was like that because you’re part Welsh…

    Like

Leave a Reply

