The Slump

It happens to the best of us.

The moment when despite the amazing experiences, beautiful views, stunning architecture and mouthwateringly good food, it all just becomes a bit too much.

When living out of a suitcase becomes more frustrating than fun, particularly when you still don’t have access to a washing machine.

When the wifi won’t work properly and it’s just so damn infuriating because you were supposed to have wifi.

When the idea of hiking for an hour just to find a restaurant for dinner seems decidedly less appealing than lying in bed eating dry coco pops from the box.

When the thought if even more travelling makes you want to curl up into a ball and stay in bed forever.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m having a marvelous time on my Euroventure.  I’ve climbed hills in Bonn, been awestruck by churches in Passau, had pizza from a train station in Milan that was literally the best pizza I’ve ever had, and wandered through the streets of a tiny Italian village in the hills above Lake Como.

In the next twelve days, I’ll have a gondola ride in Venice, visit a concentration camp, explore Munich, Prague, and Berlin, see the canals in Amsterdam, eat waffles in Belgium, and cross the channel by boat to get into the UK.

In the next six weeks I’ll be reunited with A, explore London again, go back to Cambridge, drive up through the Scottish borders and see Hadrian’s Wall, visit more castles than I can count, explore the Isle of Skye, return to Edinburgh, drive through Wales, run around Wellington like a local, and see Hobbiton (YUS).

I have so much to be excited about in the 44 days before I return to Australia.  And trust me, I am excited.

I don’t want to go back to Australia, and I don’t really want to return to life in Adelaide just yet.  A wardrobe and a kitchen would just be nice…

Leave a Reply

