A Month In

So it’s now a month since I’ve returned from my amazing adventures overseas.  This time on August 7th I had landed back in Melbourne.

No, I’m not ok with it.

Sure, I’m settling in back in Australia.  I slipped back into my old routine with minimal fuss, probably made easier by the fact we’re living with A’s parents so I don’t have to be fully self-sufficient. I’m back at uni, in fact it’s almost the mid-semester break.  I’ve managed to squeeze in catch ups with a few of my friends, which has been good.

Things still just feel weird though.

I really miss Edinburgh.  I heard this would happen, but I didn’t realise how severely homesick I would be.  People keep asking if I’m happy to be back in Australia, and I don’t know what to say.

The answer, if I’m honest (which I usually am) is no.  I’m not happy to be back.  I miss pretty much everything about Edinburgh – the shops, the food, the uni, my friends, the accents, being able to say “hiya”, the money, the constant bagpipes.  Obviously it’s amazing to be back with A, and it’s nice to be in a similar timezone to my family, but on the whole I’d rather be back in Edinburgh.

I plan on going back, obviously, hopefully for masters in 2017 if I can organise that.

For now though, I’m just going to have to keep battling through this homesickness and monachopis (a word I discovered the other day that refers to “the subtle but persistent feeling of being out of place”).

It’s a struggle, but it’s the only option I have right now.

Leave a Reply

