Style Saturday: An Experiment

I’ve decided to do something that may come as a surprise to those who know me well.

I’ve decided to make a capsule wardrobe.

For those who aren’t aware, a capsule wardrobe is a small number of clothing items, shoes, and sometimes accessories that can all be worn together.  The idea is that you cut down the number of items you own, declutter your life, only wear pieces you love, have less trouble picking an outfit in the morning, and spend less money and time shopping for things you don’t actually need.

Now, the reason this will come as a surprise to some is that I’m a little bit of a shopaholic.  Not a ‘shop so much that you spend all your money and go into debt and can’t pay rent or buy food’ shopaholic.  I’m not an idiot, I have a budget.  It’s just that I do chose to buy clothes quite regularly.  I find it relaxing.

I also find it stressful when my wardrobe is filled with clothes, shoes, and general stuff that I can’t exactly remember buying, definitely never wore, but feel too bad giving them away.

I must say, I’ve gotten better at this since I arrived in Edinburgh.  Perhaps it was just the abundance of good clothing stores (Topshop, River Island etc), but I started only buying things I really liked, and got into the habit of giving away things I didn’t.

I still wouldn’t say I’m perfect though.  I definitely have a habit of impulse buying pretty dresses that I know I’ll never wear or only wear once (I’m not actually a dress person), or of buying trendy or cool fashion items despite the fact I know I’ll only wear my same two pairs of jeans with my plain t-shirts or a white shirt (with the addition of one of my beautiful coats in winter) until Australia’s weather prevents that from being a viable option.

So, with the warmer months well and truly upon us (groan), I’ve decided to set myself a challenge.

A three month capsule wardrobe to last me from October to December.  Clothes, shoes, accessories (bags/hats/sunglasses) all included.   I haven’t decided on a number of items yet, but seeing as it’s my first attempt (and I’m a bit thingy about the number 7) I’m thinking 42 (or 35 if I can).  Project 333 suggests 33, and Unfancy suggests 37 (excluding bags/cocktail attire/dressy clothes), but they’re both just guidelines.  I’ll probably follow Unfancy’s route, at least to begin with.  I do love bags.

So that’s the challenge.

I’m making a list of items I want.  I’ve put away all my winter/autumn clothes.  I’m hunting down pieces on Asos, Boohoo, Missguided, the Iconic, and in actual stores to tick off my list of ‘must have’ wardrobe items.

Hopefully this week or next week I’ll have another update with the pieces I chose and why I chose them!

Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

