The Year That Was

Well, we’ve made it. It’s the last day of 2015.

It was the year when so much changed and yet everything important seemed to stay the same.

It was the year my love of wandering was truly unleashed into the world, the year I was bitten by the travel bug and didn’t look for the cure.

It was the year I feel deeply, truly, unalterably in love with Edinburgh, and promised myself that somehow, someday, I would return there to live.

It was the year I found those life long friends you hear everyone talk about in movies and books, the ones you want around for both the big and small moments.  Most of them were already around before 2015, but this year everything just became more obvious.  Some of them, however, came out of nowhere to become some of the most important people in my life (*stares at Molly and Tam*).

It was the year of difficult choices that turned out to not actually be that difficult after all.

It was the year when even though things didn’t always go smoothly, or to plan, I never felt like the walls were caving in.

It was the year I finally sorted out my priorities (as much as a 21 year old can sort out their priorities), priorities I plan on acting on in 2016 (can I say priorities again?).

It’s strange to think that this time last year I was arriving in London, ready to begin my six month exchange in the UK. Looking back, I had absolutely no idea how much those six months were going to change things, and how despite my hatred of change, it would all work out for the better.

I don’t really know what 2016 will hold for me, but I’m ok with that. Things will work themselves out, and for now I’m just enjoying the journey.

Happy New Year, and here’s to a wonderful 2016!

And happy birthday to my fantastic daddy! ❤

Leave a Reply

