A London Adventure

Before the sun was up this morning I was on a train having scoffed down a bagel and a hot chocolate, bound for London.

image

Why leave the glory that is Edinburgh, you ask?

The West End.

In another life I would be a performer. My happiest memories of high school are undoubtedly the productions I was a part of: Oliver, the Wizard of Oz, and Les Miserables. I adore being part of a production – the rehearsals, the performing, the sense of friendship and comraderie that comes from hours of shared rehearsal, food runs, inside jokes, and becoming a little bit too comfortable about stripping off in front of each other for quick changes. My one regret is that I never took that particular passion seriously, abandoning it instead for other, slightly more obtainable passions.

Anyway, that’s not the point.

Today I treated myself to two, that’s right, two West End shows: Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables.
image

Phantom of the Opera on the West End was one of the best things I’ve seen in my life, and will probably stay that way.  I cried three times (the overture, Music of the Night, and at the end). Obviously it was all incredible, but I absolutely cannot fault Celinde Schoenmaker as Christine.  She’s stunning, her voice gave me chills, and most importantly she’s the first Christine I’ve seen who actually a) made me like Christine and b) make me (briefly) dislike the Phantom.  Yes, controversial, but I just can’t hate the Phantom. I mean, I don’t think it’s great that he goes around killing people then kidnaps a girl and attempts to force her to marry him (rude), but, I dunno…I just like him.  Maybe it’s because Gerard Butler (who plays the Phantom in the most recent film adaptation) is a bit of a babe…

I thought it couldn’t get much better after Phantom.

It got SO MUCH BETTER.
image

Les Mis at the Queen’s Theatre was genuinely THE BEST musical/ballet/opera/play/concert/literally anything that involves performing that I’ve seen in my life.

It was just so good.  So so so good.

If you’re in London, go and see it. Just go. It’s now good.
image

Now, if you’ll excuse me it’s 11pm, I’ve been up since 6:30, and after a four and a half hour train journey and TWO musicals in one day, I’m shattered!

2 thoughts on “A London Adventure

Leave a Reply

