Tag Tuesday: Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.
The Giver. I don’t think I’ve ever disliked a book as much as I disliked The Giver. Perhaps it just came at a bad time in my personal development, I mean you read The Giver after reading Nineteen Eighty Four and try to be impressed. I even distinctly remember doing my year 8 (or maybe 9…) English assignment (when we were studying the Giver) about how inferior it was to Nineteen Eighty Four. #greatstudent.

I just…god it’s making me mad even thinking about it. I HATE the Giver. 

2. A popular book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.
This probably (definitely) doesn’t count but I can’t think of a book that I love that most people hate. I mean, I loved the Hobbit in year 8 when most people hated studying it, but I dunno if that counts…and it’s my blog so my rules. 

Anyway, my answer is the film of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (it’s based off a graphic novel which is based off not so nice guys from classic books so…). No one seems to like this movie. Literally no one. And yet I think it’s one of my favourite films of all time. Sure, it’s not groundbreaking or anything, but I just love it so much.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with  OR an OTP that you don’t like.
There’s one that really bugs me but I can’t think of it right now.  That’s annoying.

I think Hermione is too good for Ron, so there’s that one.

This is really hard when I can’t see my bookshelf.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.
Paranormal. Oh god I can’t stand it. I can’t get into vampires, or werewolves, or zombies, or whatever else is included in paranormal.  Maybe it’s because all the plots revolve around absolutely ridiculous love triangles…?

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
Ron Weasley. 100% He’s a git. He’s basically one of the worst types of teenagers – whiny, self-involved, but a bit of a hero so you can’t hate him. Well I do, so there. 

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
Neil Gaiman *ducks*

It’s not that I don’t like his books, or that I don’t want to read them.  I just have no urgency to read what he’s written.  I’m sure I will eventually and it will be great, but for now I’m just a bit meh about it all.

*ducks again*

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)
I’m sick of the ‘bad’ guy just being bad.  Why is he bad? Well just because.  What’s his motivation?  Because he’s the bad guy.  BAD GUYS NEED CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT TOO! I think that’s why I like Voldemort so much (more controversial opinions, but Voldemort is genuinely my favourite HP character). That character development! Those motivations! Why can’t more bad guys be like Voldemort? 

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
That Clockwork Angel thing. The Mortal Instruments?  Or are they two different series written by the same author? I don’t know.  Or care.  Which is the point. I’m just really not interested.  It’s not my thing.  And there are far too many fantastic books in the world for me to read without forcing myself to read something just because it’s popular! 

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?
Hands down The Martian. If you want to know my feelings about the book, you can read my review.  But to summarise, it was ok, but I just enjoyed the film so much more.  Which in itself is an unpopular opinion because most people think the book is the best thing ever and I’m just like ‘meh’. 

Honourable mention to Pride and Prejudice because I fucking love the film (the Keira Knightly one) but I just can’t get more than a few pages into the book. One day.

What are your unpopular opinions? Leave them in the comments along with your rage at me hating on Ron and not having read enough Neil Gaiman.

8 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday: Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Completely agree with you about The Martian! It didn’t help that I am not scientifically-minded, so much of it was going straight over my head. It certainly isn’t a lay person’s novel. And also on Neil Gaiman, I just can’t get into his stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

