Tag Tuesday: Totally Didn’t Book Tag

Totally didn’t need to have a sequel/sequels.
To Kill A Mockingbird. I haven’t read Go Set A Watchman because I haven’t heard many good things about it, and I just don’t understand why it needs to exist. To Kill A Mockingbird is a modern classic, an IMPORTANT modern classic. Why would you mess with it, even if Go Set A Watchman was written around the same time?

Totally didn’t need to have more than one point of view.
This one is SO hard, because as a rule I love multiple POV books. The one that springs to mind is sort of a cheat because I liked that it had multiple POVs but there was just one I didn’t like.  But it’s my blog so my rules.
If you read my plane book review from January, you’ll already know I had mixed feelings about The Martian. One of the things I really disliked was that occasionally (read like two or three times) the narration would switch to weird third person where Watney was referred to as ‘the astronaut’, usually when describing some sort of failure/disaster with the machinery/technology on Mars. My god this annoyed me.  It was as though in some of the most action filled sections the reader was completely detached from what was going on.  I think the book would have worked SO much better without that particular POV!

Totally didn’t need to change cover art through the middle of a series.
The Leviathan series hardcovers.

Why does Leviathan look like this:

Leviathan hardcover

But the others look like this:

download (1)

WHY???

Although whilst googling images for this I’ve discovered that the Germans have the cool cover for all three books, so I might need to get my hands on the German copies just to steal their dust jackets… Don’t judge me…

Totally didn’t need a love triangle.
Throne of Glass. Admittedly I’m only one book into the series, but WHY DID THERE HAVE TO BE A LOVE TRIANGLE? It didn’t add anything to the plot, and it genuinely just felt like it was there because all YA these days is expected to have a love triangle. I feel like it would have worked better if Celaena had just been friends with one of them and had feelings for the other (I won’t tell you who I think she should have fancied). No wonder people are convinced men and women can’t be friends when every book ever has to have love triangles. FRIENDSHIP GOD DAMMIT.

Totally didn’t need this book to be included in this series.
A Feast for Crows. This is the fourth (or fifth if your A Storm of Swords is split in two) book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.  I read the first three books REALLY quickly, and then it took me 18 months to finish A Feast for Crows. Everything just slowed down plot wise, which made it a struggle to get through.  Also most of the awesome characters in the series aren’t even mentioned in this book, and it’s basically just introducing a whole bunch of other characters that will probably be sort of important later that he forgot to introduce earlier.  It’s SO unnecessary.  For me it would have just been so much better if he’d done a bit of editing and combined A Feast for Crows with A Storm of Swords and A Dance with Dragons. I’m still trying to get into A Dance with Dragons now (and I haven’t seen Season 5 of the TV series) because A Feast for Crows put me in a massive GoT reading slump. 

Totally didn’t need a cliffhanger.
I like cliffhangers, as a rule.  Or I don’t like them but I understand why they’re there. So I can’t think of any…

Totally didn’t need to have just one point of view.
Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence.  I loved listening to this book, and I quite enjoyed the main protagonist (I mean, he’s a twerp, but in an endearing way). BUT OH MY GOD I JUST WANTED TO KNOW WHAT HIS COMPANION IS THINKING.  It bugged me so much that I literally find myself getting distracted from the story because I wanted to know about things from Snorri’s perspective. Perhaps it’s because the majority of fantasy books have multiple POVs and that’s what I’m used to, but I couldn’t help it.  I mean, it probably wouldn’t have made the story any better because it was already awesome, but I just wanted to be inside Snorri’s head because he’d be hilarious. Hopefully it happens in book two!

Totally didn’t need that much hype.
Fifty Shades of Grey.  Seriously, it’s one of MANY ‘romance’ books about BDSM. It’s a better love story than Twilight, despite being based off it (hence the weird abusive unhealthy relationship vibe). I read all three books (don’t even get me started) and seriously, they didn’t deserve ANY hype. They’re just smutty books about an unhealthy relationship.  They’re not incredible.  They’re not groundbreaking.  They’re not going to turn all women into submissive sex slaves.  They’re not going to turn all men into abusive dicks.  They’re not going to corrupt anyone. Everyone needs to calm the fuck down.

*rant over*

Totally didn’t need a relative book reference. (Eg, For example: Hunger Games fan would love Divergent.)
Literally anything being compared to Romeo and Juliet.  Yeah, ok, it was written centuries ago so it sorta set the standard for tragic love stories, but COME ON PEOPLE. It just annoys me so much when people brush off books/movies/anything by saying ‘oh it’s just Romeo and Juliet set *insert setting here*’.  It just ignores all the other parts of the story.

This annoys me most with West Side Story. Yes, it’s a tragic love story inspired by Romeo and Juliet. But, um, it’s also a social commentary about American society in the 1950s. And I actually prefer it because Maria doesn’t kill herself at the end. And I know this is a movie but my blog my rules.

Basically, stop comparing any tragic love story to Romeo and Juliet. Just stop.

Totally didn’t deserve my time.
Twilight. 

I know people like Twilight, and that’s ok, but I don’t.  I didn’t even like it whilst I was reading it.  The only bit I enjoyed was in the second book when Bella goes crazy and starts like jumping off things so that she can hallucinate and pretend Edward is still there.

WHY did no one get that poor girl some help??

But seriously, I didn’t enjoy any of Twilight, and I honestly don’t know why I continued reading it.

Also honourable mention to Fifty Shades of Grey, which is essentially smutty Twilight fanfiction without the vampire/werewolf thing.  And yes, I really did read all three books.  See above.

Also other honourable mention to The Giver, my least favourite book of all time.

Leave a Reply

