A Few of My Favourite Things: March Edition

It’s April.

That came around quickly.

I can’t believe that this time last month it was the end of February.  Honours was just beginning, I’d been back in Australia a solid week, it was still WAY too hot outside. Now it’s autumn, the weather is usually in the mid-20s, and I’ve already handed in my first assessment for Honours.

#timeflies

So, without any further rambling, here’s a few of my favourite things from March!

Honours

Now I’ll be real with you, I thought honours was going to be terrifying.  I knew it was something I wanted to do, I’ve known that since before I started university, but I still thought it would be shit scary.  I mean, it is, but it’s also amazing! It feels fantastic to finally have a say in the direction my studies are going, picking my own thesis topic, narrowing down coursework questions to reflect my interests, being surrounded by people who also enjoy history and have things that they’re passionate about.  I found myself in quite an academic slump coming back from Edinburgh last year, and now I feel as though this first month of honours has picked me up out of that a bit and made me feel a bit more positive about the whole thing. Yay!

Friend-dates

I am absolutely awful at being social.  It’s not that I don’t like seeing people, it’s just that I’m terrible at organising to catch up/making time/putting on pants in the morning when I don’t have to be at uni.  This year however I’m making it my goal to see the people I like more frequently.  So far this is going pretty damn well.  I have a weekly lunch date with one of my favourite honours people, and I’ve started a weekly coffee thing with another new friend. It’s just amazing to know that I’ll have time out of my week when I’m not studying or exercising or lying in bed in my pjs watching Netflix, but actually talking to people I really really enjoy.  I think part of it is that I can sit for hours with these friends discussing pretty much anything, from political and philosophical issues to how fucking annoying it is that Australians refer to crisps as chips. These catch ups are definitely the highlight of my week at the moment, and I can’t wait to continue them for the rest of the year!

My Skincare Routine

I might go all beauty blogger on you all and do a post on my current skincare routine/favourite skincare items, inspired by the beautiful Lucy over at girlandsuitcase (and also because I just love skincare).  But basically, I’ve been LOVING the products I’ve used throughout March, which is always a great feeling (and my skin is pretty happy with me because of them!)

Jeans

Let’s be real, jeans are a favourite all year round for me.  It’s something that excites me about moving to Scotland, I’ll get to wear jeans ALL YEAR (that’s not such a thing in Australia). So, with autumn coming back around and the weather cooling down it didn’t take any time at all for me to get back into my jeans.  They’re literally all I wear, and all I plan to wear for the foreseeable future.

My personal favourite jeans are the Topshop Joni Jeans.  They’ve been my favourites since around this time last year when I discovered them.  They’re super stretchy which is PERFECT because I have a relatively small waist but a larger booty and thighs so structured jeans just don’t work on my body.  They’re also high waisted which I like as well.  Also they’re literally so fucking comfy.  Currently, I have a black pair, a denim pair, a burgundy pair, a ripped black pair, and a ripped grey pair.

LOVE.

My New Dotti Parka

I have a reputation for being a bit of a coat person, and I’m not going to disagree.  I fucking love coats. In 2014 I bought a khaki parka with a faux fur hood from JayJays and I absolutely LOVED it, but somewhere between Edinburgh and Adelaide it got lost (*sad face*).  I have since replaced it with an even nicer khaki anorak/parka from Dotti, one of the only Aussie stores I actually still shop at. It’s just the perfect autumn jacket to throw on over jeans and a tshirt, and maybe add a scarf if it’s a bit chilly.

Autumn

You might have guessed by the above two favourites, but I really love autumn.  The weather gets cooler, the world goes beautiful shades of red and orange and yellow, the air smells fresh and lovely, it rains more, and things are just generally better. I am definitely pro-autumn!

Future Plans

I think I’m going to start a little series here about moving overseas because (no spoilers) A and I have some pretty exciting plans for next year! If you know me you already know these plans, but basically I’m just super fucking excited and I really want to blog about the experience!

4 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things: March Edition

Leave a Reply

