A Few of My Favourite Things: April Edition

Here we are, at the end of April.  Tomorrow is May, which means there’s a month left of Autumn, and of semester 1.  We’re officially 1/3 of the way through 2016. What. The. Fuck.

Anyway, let’s get down to business (to defeat the huns…anyone…no…ok).

War of the Worlds (the Jeff Wayne Version)

The other day whilst on the bus (after A had gotten the bloody song stuck in my head) I decided to listen to the entire album all the way through (aka the way it was intended to be listened to). My god it’s brilliant. I always knew it was good, but I simply never realised just how incredible it really is.  In case you’re not familiar, War of the Worlds is a novel written by H.G Wells (which I intend on reading) that was then adapted by Jeff Wayne into a concept album/musical in the 1970s.  There’s also a film but let’s just not talk about that.

Seriously though, if you haven’t listened to War of the Worlds I seriously recommend it.  The entire soundtrack is available on spotify/youtube if you don’t want to pay, and you can even watch a few videos of it being performed.  Just do it.

 

Gippsland Dairy Toffee and Honeycomb Twist Yogurt

I have never liked yogurt.  Believe me, I’ve tried. There’s just something about it I’ve never been able to stomach.  Until I found the Gippsland Dairy yogurt, that is.  I genuinely look forwards to having this for breakfast every morning, and if I could I’d probably eat it for every meal.  It’s so damn delicious that I feels like a treat (and it is a little bit) and I find it really helps defeat my sweet tooth, which is a bonus when you’re trying to be healthy/lose weight.

 

790297

My Family

This is a pretty classic favourite for me, seeing as I’ve been watching it since I was a child. It’s a BBC comedy about an ordinary family – a dentist, a tour guide, and their three ‘normal’ children.  Ben and Susan have the sort of relationship that gives you hope that real love isn’t just the nonsense you see in movies – it’s sarcasm, occasional fights, kisses, compromise, and humour.  For some unknown reason the BBC cancelled it after 11 seasons (2000-2011), and you can’t buy the final season in Australia, so I’m having to be content with watching the 10 seasons I own on DVD. Highly recommend.

large.jpg

Game of Thrones

VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: I AM ONLY ON SEASON 5 SO I SWEAR IF YOU SPOIL ANYTHING IN THE COMMENTS….

giphy.gif

Basically I’ve just been reminded how much I thoroughly enjoy Game of Thrones.  Yes, there are criticisms that can be levelled at both the TV series and the books.  Yes, the two are beginning to differ quite significantly.  But on the whole I just don’t care. I feel reinspired to pick up Dances with Dragons again and actually finish it, after the catastrophe that was Feast for Crows. 

Lord of the Rings

Another fantasy/book favourite.  Lord of the Rings is ALWAYS my favourite because I have an unhealthy love for the books/films/anything to do with them.  But I’ve recently started listening to the book again on Audible and oh my god I’m just so in love I need to remind everyone.  I know the books aren’t for everyone, but if you think you might enjoy them please read them.  Or watch the films.  Or do something. I LOVE LORD OF THE RINGS.

giphy (1).gif
Genuinely me when I think about Lord of the Rings

My New Coat

I bought a new coat this month.  Chances are, if you know me you’re now shaking your head and thinking ‘she has too many coats’.  Well, you’re wrong.  There’s no such thing as too many coats.  Particularly not in Scotland. So there.  It’s navy with military buttons and it’s just perfect. So keep your negativity to yourself.

774245_navy_l

Graduation

I graduated on Wednesday.  How crazy is that? I can’t believe I actually have a degree. Anyway, it was just a super awesome day, with my mum, A, and some surprise guests there to make it even more awesome.  I really wish my dad could have been there to see me graduate, but hey, he’s in the Arctic circle so I’ll forgive him.  Which reminds me, go check out his blog: http://www.dotze1adventure.com/

IMG_0551

 

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things: April Edition

Leave a Reply

