Normality, or something

It never ceases to amaze me how quickly people can adapt to new situations. For a species that, on the whole, pretty firmly resists change wherever possible, we’re pretty good at adapting to it.

Case in point: our move to Edinburgh.

We have been here for exactly 27 days, and yet things have already settled into a relatively familiar routine. Aside from the obvious, overbearing stresses of finding a flat and finding work (more on that another time), everything has gone back to feeling, well, normal.

It’s funny for me, because up until now my idea of “normal” in Edinburgh didn’t include Alex, aside from the occasional text or phone call when we were both awake/not busy at the same time. Normal was LOTS of walking around the city, probably too many Starbucks hot chocolates, seeing the friends I made whilst on exchange, and spending probably too much time looking at clothes on Princes Street. All of that is the same, mostly. I’ve still gone walking almost every day since we’ve arrived, and I don’t plan on stopping that any time soon. I’m still consuming more Starbucks than the average person should (hello free drinks and gold membership for another year). Quite a few of my exchange friends have moved away from Edinburgh, but I’m still catching up with those who are in the city, and it’s wonderful. And yes, I’m still spending too much time on Princes Street. Thank goodness I’m not an impulse buyer!

Of course, there’s also the side of normal life in Edinburgh that isn’t quite as amazing. Trying to work out the best time to call mum and dad. Snapchatting my friends instead of seeing them all the time (partially because I don’t know my skype log in details and I get forgetting to make a new account). Looking for something and realising it’s 10,000 miles away. Trying to do something that would be super easy in Australia and realising it isn’t quite as easy over here. Swings and roundabouts, or something, hey? The point is, all of these hassles have begun to feel normal, just part of standard life. I’ve already adapted.

There’s also a new “normal”. It’s going out to the Starbucks around the corner to buy Alex a latte. It’s laughing so loudly at Brooklyn Nine-Nine that I’m certain the neighbour can hear us. It’s walking around the city together, discussing how cute all the Stockbridge doggos are and cursing the bloody hill we have to walk up to get to the city (I can’t believe Alex thought Edinburgh was flat before he first visited!). It’s buying food for two, not for one. Alex has become part of my Edinburgh normal. And it’s great.

These past few weeks have been incredible, and being back in Edinburgh has reminded me just how happy this city makes me, and how much I hated not living here. But they’ve also been stressful, and hard, and overwhelming at times. And, as much as I hate to be soppy enough to admit it, having Alex around has made the moments of panic or dejection a whole lot easier to cope with.

 

2 thoughts on “Normality, or something

Leave a Reply

