Revisiting Childhood

The other day I found myself in bed at 12:30pm, watching old episodes of the Saddle Club on YouTube. Don’t ask me how I got there, I honestly couldn’t tell you. Then, yesterday, I turned on the TV to find that Cheaper By The Dozen (the Steve Martin version) was on, so I sat down at watched it all the way through. Even all these years later (14 years, apparently), it still made me laugh, tear up, and smile. It was funny watching it. When it first came out I was as old as red-haired, glasses wearing Mark (9), and yet watching it now I’m the same age as the eldest daughter Nora. It’s as though I’ve aged alongside the characters, even though I honestly couldn’t tell you how many years it’s been since I watched it (although I’ve always called it one of my favourite movies).

There’s something indescribably comforting about revisiting the things you used to love as a child. Yes, I’ll be the first to admit that they’re not always the literary/cinematic masterpieces you once thought they were, but nostalgia has a funny way of ironing out artistic flaws. The acting in the saddle club is far from brilliant, and honestly I can see where my dad was coming from when he called them inane little girls. Despite this, I still watched two episodes, and will always have days when I want to watch some Saddle Club or read one of the books. They make me feel all warm and fuzzy and happy.

It’s this warm fuzzy nostalgia that makes everyone (well, almost everyone) turn back to the things of their childhood. It’s the reason so many people in their twenties still religiously watch Disney films. It’s wonderful to be a child again for an hour or two, without any cares or stresses. Of course, childhood films, tv shows, and books aren’t quite as relatable as an adult, and sometimes the characters do things that just leave adults shaking their heads and wondering why. Despite this, it’s still quite nice to revisit childhood from time to time.

 

Leave a Reply

