What Happened This Week?

Way back in 2015 when I was on exchange I used to do a post every Saturday called ‘The Week In Review’, where I summed up everything that had happened during the week. I had the brilliant idea earlier this week to bring it back. I’ve been keeping a little section in my BuJo where I record the highlights and lowlights of my week/month, and I thought it might be nice to share some of them here, to keep you all up to date with how things are going over here in Edinburgh.

Seeing as it was the first week of June this week (first full week, anyway), you might have expected Edinburgh to get the memo that it’s now almost summer, and the weather should reflect this. Of course, this is Edinburgh, so even though we’ve had a few sunny days, we’ve also had two solid days of rain. It rained so much on Tuesday that the Princes Street Gardens flooded a little bit!

This week was also the UK General Election. As a dual British/Australian citizen I was eligible to vote, and years of politics study and Youth Parliament experiences had made me a firm advocator for using your vote wisely. So, I obviously trekked up the hill to our local polling station and cast my vote. I did consider not voting, as I’m not sure how long we’ll spend here in the UK, but at the end of the day I decided that I am a British citizen, and I do live in the UK now, so I should participate in the democratic process. Also, considering the election was held on the 104 year anniversary of the death of Emily Davison, the suffragette who literally died for women’s right to vote, it felt inappropriate not to. It was one of this week’s rainy days, so there were pretty much no people around, which made the whole process super duper quick. I think I was in and out in about 90 seconds! Disappointingly, there was no good old democracy sausage for me to snack on as I walked back down the hill, but I did meet a dog. I think I’ll have to introduce that (sausages, not dogs) into the UK myself. The election itself didn’t go as planned for any of the major parties: the Tories lost their majority in parliament, relying on the DUP to form a coalition, Labour wasn’t able to form a minority government to replace the Tories, and the SNP lost key seats in Scotland. It’s definitely still too early to tell how this will impact things over here, but it’s definitely going to be a very interesting few months.

On the more personal front, this week was a lovely rest. Due to a mix up on my manager’s end with the new work scheduling app my manager uses, I didn’t have any tour shifts this week. Although this was super frustrating in terms of actually making money, it was lovely to have four full days off. I wrote almost all of my blog posts in advance, got a fair bit of writing and reading done, and also had a few lovely walks and some good old couch-slob sessions. I don’t mind walking around in the rain, particularly as at the moment it’s not actually too cold outside, but it is a good excuse to stay wrapped up on the couch with a good book, some Pioneer Woman on TV, and some YouTube videos. Alex and I have been getting back into Hell’s Kitchen, which means we spend a few hours each night judging the stupid American chefs and talking about how great Gordon Ramsay is. Who says romance is dead?

That just about sums up this week. Let’s hope next week is just as good!

Leave a Reply

