Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites

As I mentioned in last week’s wrap up, last Tuesday I was lucky enough to attend a preview for the National Museum of Scotland’s newest exhibit: Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites.

Quite frankly, if that trailer doesn’t excite you, I don’t know what’s wrong with you.

I am fascinated by the Jacobites, so much so that I’m seriously considering pursuing them as a post-grad topic. In particular, I’m interested in how the image of the Jacobites was reappropriated and romanticised, and how they’ve fit into popular Scottish consciousness and identity since the late eighteenth century. So obviously, this is the exhibit for me.

Even before we got the museum, I knew this was going to have to be a multi-visit exhibit. There’s just SO much on display, so many pieces of material history, so many stories, so much information, and it would be impossible for me to take it all in straight away. My plan at the moment is to try and come back at least two more times, bringing my notebook with me and really taking my time throughout the exhibit. I already know that most of my focus will be on the final rooms: those dedicated to the Battle of Culloden, the failure of the ’45, and the aftermath of the rebellion. That said, there’s so much background information in all the earlier rooms that I can hardly ignore.

I’m sure I’ll be back soon enough with a more detailed overview of the exhibit, but for now here are just a few photos of the plethora of displays! Some of the artefacts (including the costumes) has survived from the 1600 and 1700s!

Leave a Reply

